World War Z by Max Brooks

To put it simply, this is a generation defining book. Like it or not, that is an undeniable fact. It can be argued that this book along with its semi-prequel The Zombie Survival Guide, have single handedly started the present zombie fad. This is quite simply one of my favorite books and since it is being made into a movie (one that will most likely fail to live up to its written form) I felt that it would be a good time to give my review of it. If you haven’t read this book yet please keep in mind that this review may have some spoilers in it.

The writing in this book is rather different from most other books in that it is actually a collection of short-stories in the form of interviews. The premise of the story is that the author has gone across the world as a UN agent to interview survivors of a recent global war on zombies that humanity barely won. Each interview helps add to the larger picture of the global struggle against the undead as well as adding a distinct human element. Each story is radically different from the last. One story, for example, will be about how human trafficking in Asia helped to hasten the spread of the undead, while the next story will be about a housewife in the USA and how she and her family narrowly avoided being slaughtered in their home. The fact that the author chooses to focus on the world at large rather than just the US or some other country as most other zombie novels choose to do adds to the wide appeal of the book.

Another beautiful aspect of this book is the fact is that the story has several important themes that make this book surprisingly adult. While being a fun read about the undead it also a rather lesson in political theory. The book is decidedly anti-isolationist and also deals extensively with how countries deal with large scale disasters. It is because of this as well as for other reasons I have heard that, at least at the University of Pittsburgh, it is being used as an actual text book for political theory classes. Unfortunately I have no way of confirming this as I do not go to said school.

One of the sillier aspects of the book is that it is written by a decidedly “liberal” author, while the book is actually rather “conservative” in nature. The idea of individuality and self sufficiency is heavily pushed in many of the stories. It should be noted, however, that many stories also discuss team survival, but the the individualist stories are much more detailed and more memorable than the latter.

While this is truly an amazing book, I have serious doubts as to the movie. I admit that I have yet to see the movie (I will update this when I have) but from what I have seen in the form of previews that it will most likely only be World War Z in name only. While this is a book about deep ideas about humanity as a whole, the movie looks like a simple action flick. What can you expect from someone like Brad Pitt though? Even the author, Max Brooks has expressed doubts about this movie in at least one interview, which can be seen here, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QEq-ud0NIc . Will I still see the movie? Yes. Will it be an abortion? Most likely. Hopefully I’m proven wrong.

5 thoughts on “World War Z by Max Brooks

  1. Nice review, I saw the trailer for the new film and thought it looked awful but you’ve made me interested in reading the book. I shall have to add it to my to do list!

  2. I agree, It looks like the only thing the book and film will share in common is the title. I loved the book, but as a fan of the genre am still quite excited to see the film. Would love to see it picked up as a TV series.

    • I love the genre too, but to me the movie looks like it cheapens the genre. You don’t take a deep story and then turn it into a cheesey action movie where all the zombies are generated by computer. I would have loved a tv show with one episode being one of the stories in the book, but I don’t think that will happen BECAUSE of the movie. Since there is already a movie out most producers and tv channels will feel that it would be redundant to have a tv show with the same premise or story title.

  3. Pingback: Interesting Books | White Flag of the Dead Series by Joseph Talluto

Leave a Reply

