Cell by Stephen King

This is the first book I have read by Stephen King. This is for numerous reasons. As a person I find Mr. King rather immature. His essay on the disgusting act of violence that occurred in Conn. is proof of this. I found the essay to be a manifesto of hate against a group of people who merely disagree with Mr. King. This was a most unfortunate act on his part. I also found some of the topics of most of his books uninteresting to me personally. Carrie which I’m certain is a good book just didn’t appeal to me as a book I would enjoy. The same goes for his other works such as the The Stand and Tommyknockers. I must admit that Misery does sound like it would be a very comical book and I may work my way around to it one day. It should also be noted that I have found the miniseries based on his books good, but they left me with no real ambition to read the books they’re based upon. My significant other suggested Cell vehemently to me as I enjoy the Zombie genre immensely.

I’m going to be blunt; Cell  IS NOT a zombie novel. It may appear to be, but it is anything but. The zombie aspect can be easily misinterpreted by anyone and it’s easy to see why many people consider it to be such. In this story most everyone who has a cell phone is “infected” by something known only as The Pulse. The Pulse turns those subjected to it into temporarily animalistic killers, eventually known as phoners. This quickly brings society crashing down within a 24 hour span. We are left with a small group of people in Boston who decide to go north to Maine in order to find one of their own’s child. They eventually notice that the phoners are only active strictly during the day so they and other numerous groups of survivors travel solely at night. They also notice that the phoners are a part of a hive mind. After a few strange and sometimes scary encounters with the phoners the small group of survivors reach their destination. There they have a final, more climactic encounter with the the phoners that sets a new tone for the story in motion.

As I said before this is not a zombie book. The phoners aren’t zombies, they’re people being controlled by something against their will. It’s not a disease and it is exceptionally easy to kill them, no shot to the head is needed. They don’t feed on the living and when they die they stay dead. It was a alright book. You could at least tell that Mr. King tried hard. I wasn’t surprised by anything that happened and the characters were likable enough, although it must be noted that two of the characters are fairly young adults in their early teens and it was easy to forget this fact as they talked like college educated adults which was a bit unrealistic. Also, Cell is a good reminder to try new things even if you’re not that good at them, as Mr. King demonstrated here.

Leave a Reply

